CS50

Standard

If you haven’t heard of it before (like me), I highly recommend checking out Harvard’s CS50 course. CS50 is “Harvard University’s introduction to the intellectual enterprises of computer science and the art of programming.” Best of all, if you’re like me and don’t have any means or desire to actually attend Harvard, you can audit the class for free via edX. For $90 you can even walk away with a teacher-signed certificate and some electronic evidence for your LinkedIn account.

It is a 12-week course and I watched most of the first week’s videos today. We started off with some basic information about what computer science is, why we use binary, etc. That branched into some basic programming with MIT’s Scratch system. By the end of my day I was writing some basic programs in Scratch, and getting a better idea of how this might all lead to improvements in my own problem solving and coding skills.

Leave a Reply

