Spent some time over at Webflow messing around…

Status

Spent some time over at Webflow messing around with their unique website designer. I like the idea…I like it a lot. But it’s just not intuitive enough for me. Granted, I may be biased toward WordPress because I’ve been using it for so long, but there’s something so comforting about how simple and user-friendly and powerful the WordPress CMS is. I’ll keep dabbling, but I don’t see myself switching over to Webflow exclusively anytime soon.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my goals in life. It seems like a lot of people are in the same boat as me – they feel dissatisfied at work or school or home because their perceive their actions to lack meaning or purpose, and there’s a whole galaxy of memes and motivational posters about taking the plunge and chasing your dreams and all that stuff. I like the idea, but the cautious side of me knows that it’s not all roses and rainbows for people who drop whatever stability they have in life and go after what they “really want”. So I keep doing what I’ve been doing, and keep wishing that some opportunities would open up.

And, of course, I also find myself questioning whether or not my feeling of meaninglessness is accurate. Maybe what I do does make a difference, it just doesn’t feel like it? I don’t know.

I was thinking about my perfect job this evening and I kept coming back to digital literacy. It’s what I know best. It’s what I do. I am digitally literate in the sense that as new technologies emerge, I’m out there gathering information and trying things out and considering the long-term consequences of technological change and disruption in a variety of industries. I search for jobs that involve digital literacy and I find a lot of adult education stuff, some journalistic endeavors, and lots of teaching and librarian positions. Hmmm.

If you happen to be reading this and you are aware of digital literacy jobs, let me know!

Leave a Reply

