Today’s post on Seth Godin’s blog struck a…

Status

Today’s post on Seth Godin’s blog struck a chord with me. The topic was idea adoption which, of course, directly relates to my post on #digitalfirst schools.

Godin provided the following graphic to highlight his message:

6a00d83451b31569e201bb086e90ce970d-800wi

I think that many of my own frustrations are a product of my work at the fringe. I’m not sure why, but I like to operate out on the leading edges…I like to see what’s coming, research it, evaluate it, and put it to use if it’s going to be helpful. I’m not just talking about products either, this relates to ideas too. The problem is that when you’re out on the fringes, it is natural that it will take some time for the majority to come around and adopt the ideas and products that the fringe may be well into already. I want everyone to hurry up, catch up, etc. but I need to temper my expectations. Good advice, Seth.

Leave a Reply

